Glen Moray Tour

On Friday 23rd September I decided to take the day to visit a couple of Speyside distilleries. The second of these was to the Glen Moray distillery which is just outside Elgin, as the rain was threatening to fall, I jumped in a taxi from the train station to get me there.

I received a warm welcome to the lovely visitor centre. I was part of a small group, but sometimes this helps to make the answering of questions easier. The tour itself was informative and interesting, seeing the scale of operations whilst the distillery was undergoing a bit of a spruce up.

Seeing the barrels in the dunnage with the clear ends was a good experience to see how the barrels influence both the colour and of course the finish of the whiskies. At the end we had the chance to sample some of the whiskies, I had the 12 year old – the Elgin Classic and managed to try the cider cask finish too (which I rather enjoyed). After finishing my samples of these lovely whiskies, I bought a bottle of the Glen Moray 16 year old and headed home… I am lucky to have a sample of the 1994 to sample and will let you know how that tastes soon.

Leave a Reply

