That Boutique-y Whisky Company – Twitter Tasting

Wednesday 15th March was a night that so many had been waiting for… including me.

That Boutique-y Whisky Company’s twitter tasting with Steve Rush aka The Whisky Wire and the man of the moment Dave Worthington from the wonderfully aforementioned whisky company.

I had my first delicious encounter with TBWC during the Yorkshire Whisky Festival in York last September (2016), and to say I was smitten would be putting it mildly… so when this tasting was announced I was hoping it would be a dram come true. I wonder how many of us applied and then waited expectantly for the message to say we had been chosen to participate?

Then the moment of jubilation after weeks of having lots of bits and bobs crossed, just hoping…

With package in hand, and unwrapped, I eagerly opened the box and carefully unknotted the twine from the cards and smiled when I saw what we were going to try! I was sure that this was indeed about to be a boutique-y-licious evening.

My thoughts on these:

Loch Lomond 19 year old – Batch 3 – Single Grain Scotch Whisky – 49.7% abv

Lovely rich golden colour, the nose was vanilla and fudge accompanied by milk chocolate buttons and pineapple cubes just jostling about after a naughty bag of pick and mix when you couldn’t quite choose chocolate over sugar so went for both. Followed by a lovely mocha.

The palate was smooth, with rum and raisin ice-cream melting on a warm fruity bun that had some ginger sprinkled in, so there was just a touch of taste. Then you get to finish that mocha but you just get that last bit of bitter cocoa at that’s not quite stirred in. I thought this had a warm lengthy finish with just a bit of fruit rind coming in.

Secret Distillery #2 15 year old – Batch 2 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky – 51% abv

This had a lovely pinky colour to it…and okay, I will admit it now…I think the secret distillery was named last night, so if you read this blog and know which one it is, then please let me know!

Rich sticky fruit buns and the thought that “a minute on the lips is some extra curves for the hips”, my initial thought was “a waft of hops in 1976 in Gorgie during a warm summers day’ (that my friends is another story) I think this was then better described as malted loaf… I think I got something savoury just floating by, but couldn’t quite pin it down. There was light spices and the cinnamon from the bun – oh the calories 😉 some condensed milk too!

The palate continued with that sweet condensed milk, and fruitiness and something a tad bitter like Bourneville chocolate, this wasn’t off-putting , it was just there a moment, this along with cinnamon again and summer fruits.

This had a creamy finish to it.

Next up and something that really made me smile was the Mortlach… I had a MM (Mortlach Moment) last year that well, left me in a funny way, and having not managed to buy a bottle of the Murray McDavid Mortlach 21 year old 1994 Mission Gold  (apart from a sample) this hopefully would peek my interest again…

Mortlach 18 year old – Batch 3 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky – 48.9%

Lovely colour that just had me wanting to pick it up and begin to nose it. My initial thought was newly applied nail varnish, not a negative, just a comment (I dare say this could have had a little more time to open) There was sherbet lemons and some vanilla, and a maltiness that just sat well with the lovely perfume on the senses, plus a side of maple bacon.

The palate had a lovely rich mouthfeel, chocolate and rich caramel with spice meeting oak with a sprinkle of nutmeg and vanilla, an odd bitterness in a good way, and the finish was met with that same oak just carrying through.

Glenrothes 25 year old – Batch 3 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky – 49.7%

Ah, another one with which I have been lost in thought… I know it won’t be the same, but the anticipation can be a wonderful thing and besides which, remembering a whisky that you were lost in is a nice thing to recall..

A light amber gold colour. Fresh and creamy, and a little bit dreamy. A little crisp – was that some ginger? There was definitely some peach, and it was deliciously floral and pleasantly enticing. Got a squeeze of warm and comfortable leather, and some freshly sawn wood.

Hmm the palate, boutique-y-liciousness… chocolate and creamy peaches and drizzled creamy white milky bar and I wrote “just there”.

The finish was warm and yummy and a touch of oak and just darn good!

Now who didn’t love a bit of Father Ted? “honestly the money was just resting in my account”… Kick Bishop Brennan up the arse! Sampras the rabbit, and the unforgettable “My Lovely Horse”… the last dram of the night, bring on the horse and an extra helping of sugar lumps.

Irish Single Malt #1 24 year old – Batch 1 – Single Malt Irish Whisky

A lovely colour and and eagerness to try this! It was fresh with childhood sweets all mingling together, chupa chups (gotta love a lolly) some juicy apple just leaving a dribble on your lip and some passion fruit. Barley sugar sticks on Derwentwater (last place I had one in October.)

The palate was bitter lemon in a good way, bitter but delicious. A drop of honey, and the passion fruit, and creamy and fruity and increasingly more-ish. The finish was plums and cream and rich and hmm. I wasn’t sure what to expect with this, but it was very interesting.

And then there were none.

So what is left to say? All I can say is a massive thanks to Steve, and That Boutique-y Whisky Company and of course, Dave. And everyone else, great banter and some smiles 🙂

Leave a Reply

