The Glenfiddich Distillery and Aberlour Distillery Tour

Last Sunday I decided it was time to escape the city limits and go where the views are breathtaking and the air is smattered with the remnants of the Angel’s Share…yes I was heading to a couple of Speyside distilleries…

On the way there was a reminder of a distillery I want to visit again this year, The GlenDronach. A definite must redo visit.

IMG_4268

What a gorgeous day as the first view of Ben Rinnes welcomed us to Moray (there’s a signpost.) Clear views and hopes of some delicious discoveries filled my mind.

IMG_4269.JPG

So the next stop was going to be The Glenfiddich for lunch. If you haven’t been for a tour, or even popping in for lunch. Then it’s a must do. You’ll enjoy the tour and a wee treat in the shop or the Malt Barn restaurant which also has a fine selection of drams on offer. As well as a delicious selection of food. I had already decided what to have, the Cullen Skink and as always it was superb!

After a quick browse round the distillery shop – accompanied by willpower it was time to head off to the Aberlour distillery.

Emma the guide gave us a very interesting and informative tour of the distillery and told us of its wonderful history and not only that but of the village itself. I was pleased to see that I wasn’t the only thing from Middlesbrough as I looked at the steel beams in the dunnage warehouse (lol.)

We had a fab tasting at the end which included the new make spirit at 63.5 abv. This would help clear anyone’s sinuses. It was nice trying the A’bunadh again but I have to say the winner for me was this and yes I’ve taken a bottle home 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Glenfiddich Distillery and Aberlour Distillery Tour

Leave a Reply

